situpandlisten#8

No. The Jubilee has not affected what I listened to this week.  I also didn’t really feel like toeing the anti-establishment line.  I did think about The Queen is Dead and obviously Anarchy in the UK, but I didn’t want to get worked up about it.  There’s too much bunting, mini flags and blanket news coverage to do that for me.  Maybe this week it should be hideunderaduvetandlisten.

“Zig Zag Wanderer” by Captain Beefheart:  Don Van Vilet.  Musician. Artist.  Poet.  His 1967 album, Safe as Milk is so incredibly easy and enjoyable to listen to that almost as soon as it finishes, you just have to listen to it again, and feel the stomping electricity that runs through the record.  Zig Zag Wanderer is just one of these songs that draws you in.  Full of soul, personality, drive and hard arse rhythm, this week I have been well and truly bitten by the Beefheart. Got beef?

“The Bad in Eachother” by Feist:  Big powerful stompy emotional folk blues number from Canadian mystery Leslie Feist.  The song feels incredibly filmic, and sensing this, the video is rather cinematic too.  Very tense and absorbing stuff, both music and video.  I never really got Feist until now.  Feisty.

“Into the Rain” by Munich:  this one has been on the cards for a while, and I suppose given the fact that amazing sunshine has been swallowed by a shit load of rain, it feels apt in early June.  I’m not sure this is what the band from Brighton were going for but some beautiful singing, euphoric choruses and epic wavy guitar make it one to cherish.  I look forward to hearing more.  A band for all seasons.

“Birmingham” by Odjibox:  This electro swing producer knows how to jive.  On the Caravan Palace, Correspondents variety.  This tasty little number will have you swinging electronically throughout the week, featuring a rather snazzy and ever so slightly jazzy clarinet.  Swing my pretties

“Marvellous Dream” by Damon Albarn.  I could write a whole blog about the talents of Mr Alban, (maybe I will one day), but for now I will share with you his latest ‘side project’, Dr Dee: an English Opera.  A tribute to a truly brilliant figure of 16th century England, John Dee. This is a very calming and soothing song to enjoy. Carry on Damon. Carry on. Deelightful.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Musical Digest

Leave a Reply

